Google undertakes to automatically delete your personal data after 18 months

By default, and without any user intervention, Google undertakes to delete all the data collected by its software and applications (such as history on the Internet, location among others) after 18 months. For YouTube, this deadline is set at 36 months.

Like Facebook, Google remains in the crosshairs of certain administrations and associations for the defense of privacy, and like Facebook, Google is committed to better protecting the personal data of its users. At least to exploit them less. Especially in the long term.

Thus, Google already offered options to manually delete the data collected. These were location history, web activity, and YouTube history. Data collected as soon as you create a Google account and use Chrome on a computer or smartphone, which Google then uses to better target advertisements.

Easier to access Incognito mode
From today, there is no need to perform manual deletion since Google undertakes to automatically delete the data after 18 months. All new Google accounts will have this timeframe set by default for web activities and apps. However, YouTube is set to 36 months.

We can always adjust this period of time over three months if we prefer that Google keep this data for a shorter time and we can, of course, choose to surf without leaving traces by refusing any data collection. Moreover, Chrome’s Incognito (or private browsing) mode will be easier to access on Android and iOS applications. A single long press and you can use Chrome discreetly.

TO KNOW MORE

Internet privacy: Google to limit data collection
Because users but also associations and judges regularly complain that Google collects, stores and uses confidential data, the company has decided to offer new functions to erase your tracks in Maps, YouTube and Google Assistant.

Posted on 03/10/2019 by Fabrice Auclert

On the occasion of cybersecurity month in Europe and the United States, Google published on its blog an article announcing the improvement of the management of privacy and security in several of its products. New options are offered in various applications to prevent data collection or to facilitate automatic deletion.

The first change concerns Google Maps which now benefits from an incognito mode like that of the Chrome browser. By turning on private browsing, Google no longer uses activity or searches to personalize results, such as viewing restaurant recommendations. We can no longer be “traced” from the routes made with this geolocation application.

Automatic deletion of YouTube history
Google has also made changes to the history of YouTube. It was already possible to delete the history manually, but now the site offers automatic deletion. If this option is activated, YouTube will keep your history for 3 or 18 months before erasing it. Likewise, new options for deleting history are offered in connected objects using Google Assistant which will allow him to delete history by simple voice command. Any deletion of more than a week will however require going through the account settings page to be validated.

The firm has also improved the password manager integrated into the Google account. The Password Checkup function now allows you to check whether your passwords are secure enough, if they have not been reused for several accounts and if they have not been compromised by a data leak. These new features are already in place for YouTube and the password manager. For Maps and the assistant, the new options will be deployed in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *